Trail Challenge and Annual Meeting News

The Mount Shasta Trail Association has postponed the annual meeting until further notice. In order to complete the 2019 Trail Challenge event and maintain social distancing, we decided to draw the special prize winner today. We would like to congratulate Katy Ostrowski!  The special prize this year is a $150 gift certificate for the Fifth Season.

The Mount Shasta Trail Association would still like to celebrate your accomplishment at our annual meeting. We will announce the date of the meeting in a few weeks.

If you are interested in participating in the 2020 Trail Challenge, the new passport will be available at the Siskiyou Science Festival in downtown Mount Shasta on May 16th. The passports will be distributed at MSTA orienteering booth.

Hope to see you out on the trails!

MSTA Annual Meeting on February 10th, 2011

The Mt. Shasta Trail Association invites its members and the public to attend the MSTA’s Annual Meeting scheduled for Thursday evening, February 10th, 6:30 PM, at the Mt Shasta Museum (at the Fish Hatchery).

“Our annual meeting is hugely successful because so many people are able to learn about all of the projects we have in the works, how we are partnering with other community groups, where we have made a visible difference on the ground, what we have coming up for new public trail projects, and how we can utilize more volunteers,” says Joe Wirth, president of MSTA. “I’m pleased to report that we currently have the most projects in progress that we have ever had at one time and, astonishingly, there are more coming our way.”

Joe, along with the MSTA Board of Directors, will supply updates on the trails at Lake Siskiyou, Box Canyon, Spring Hill, Cabin Creek (aka Squaw Valley Creek), the Pacific Crest Trail, and the Castle Crags nature trail. New projects that will be presented include the Mt. Shasta Greenway, Box Canyon trail extension, the Gateway Trail, and the currently proposed Mossbrae Falls trail.

At this program the MSTA will present new awards that acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by four dedicated people: Tom Hesseldenz and Chris Marrone will receive the Lifetime Conservation Award, Buzz Knight will receive the Community Service Award, and Joan Roemer will receive the Volunteer of the Year Award.

As an added special feature, Mike Hupp will present his spectacular photo show of the construction of the newly opened Wagon Creek Bridge at Lake Siskiyou.

This program is free and open to the public. Hors d’oeuvres and beverages will be served. For more information call 926-2858.